2019 Forbes’ list of American’s Most Innovative Leaders

2019 Medicine Maker Power List as a Business Captain

2019 Massry Prize for Life-Changing Contributions to Science, Los Angeles, CA

2017 Prix Galein Award for Best Biotech Product, New York, NY

2017 Medicinal Chemistry Hall of Fame, Class of 2017

2016  E.B. Hershberg Award for Important Discoveries in Medicinally Active Substances  presented by the American Chemical Society, San Francisco, CA

2016  Oligonucleotide Therapeutic Society’s Lifetime Achievement Award, Montreal, Canada

2015  Keynote Speaker, TIDES 2015, San Diego, CA

2014   Scrip Lifetime Achievement Award, London, UK

2014   SMA Breakthrough Award, part of the Cure SMA Gala of Hope, Seal Beach, CA

2013   Distinguished Scientist Award presented by the San Diego section of the American Chemical Society (ACS)

2013   Corporate Director of the Year Award presented by The Corporate Directors Forum

2008   AAAS Fellow (for distinguished contributions), American Association for the Advancement of Science

2006   Distinguished Individual in Biotech, Reader Selected, Nature Biotechnology

2003   Finalist The 2003 World Technology Awards for Biotechnology and Fellow of The World Technology Network, San Francisco, CA

2002   Helix Award for Corporate Excellence, presented by the Long Island Life Sciences Initiative and sponsored by BIO Stony Brook University and the Center for Biotechnology

2002   The Ernst & Young 2002 Entrepreneur of the Year Award Recipient

2002   BioFUSION Life Sciences Innovator Award presented by the T Sector and Biocom, San Diego and sponsored by Pfizer La Jolla PricewaterhouseCoopers and Sun Microsystems

2001   Distinguished Alumnus of the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences Baylor College of Medicine

2001   Technology Leader of the Year Award, T-Sector Magazine

1999   Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award, Butler University, Indianapolis

1998   Man of the Year, Crohn’s and Colitis Foundation of America

1992   Graduate Research Symposium, Baylor College of Medicine

1992   Joseph L. Melnick Distinguished Guest Lecturer

1991   Finalist, Entrepreneur of the Year Awards Program, Ernst & Young

1988   Speaker, Baylor College of Medicine, 40th Anniversary

1986   Distinguished Professor, University of Kentucky

1984   Outstanding Lecturer, Baylor College of Medicine

1984   Keynote Speaker, Baylor College of Medicine, First Year Student Convocation

1983   Keynote Speaker, University of Wisconsin, School of Pharmacy Centennial

1981   Julius W. Sturmer Memorial Lecture Award, Rho Chi Honor Society, Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science

1978-1981     Favorite Baylor Faculty Member, Baylor College of Medicine

1974   Outstanding Lecturer in Basic Science, Baylor College of Medicine

1973   Institutional Research Award, National Cancer Institute

1973   Southern Medical Association Research Award

1971-1972     Public Health Service Postdoctoral Fellowship

1970   Outstanding Graduating Medical Student in Pharmacology

1968-1971     Public Health Service Predoctoral Fellowship